Provenance Collective
Filed under Releases

PR019: Sebastian Field – Picture Stone

Canberra’s Sebastian Field (Cracked Actor, Burrows, and Julia and the Deep Sea Sirens) reinvents himself as a solo performer with the release of his debut ‘Picture Stone’

Sebastian Field has been a mainstay of the Canberra creative circuit for over ten years, performing in bands such as Cracked Actor, Burrows and Julia and the Deep Sea Sirens. 2019 sees him reinventing himself as a solo performer with the release of his debut, Picture Stone.

The recording process saw Field and long time collaborator, Sam King, preparing the bulk of recordings in studio, then playing said recordings into iconic locations around Canberra, marrying the reverberant qualities into the final product. Ten different locations were utilised, including; The Fitters Workshop, Ainslie Primary School, Lewellyn Hall and James Turrell’s Skyspace. Outdoor locations were utilised, too, including; Tidbinbilla National Reserve, Reconciliation Place and Old Mt Stromlo Observatory.

The soul of the record lies not in the process, though, but in the concepts it deals with, as relayed through the lyrics of key tracks and artefacts otherwise dotted throughout the collection of songs. Outside of his creative endeavours, Field has committed himself to unpacking and exploring his childhood for the past few years, a process which has markedly influenced the album.

Says Sebastian: “The technical core of the project is the capture of aural qualities of varied locations around Canberra, but the emotional core of the album lies in my growing understanding and acceptance of myself and my love towards my mother.”

Picture Stone is an ArtsACT funded initiative.

Released 28 June 2019 on Cassette and Digital.



  1. Time May Wake Us All
  2. Liberty Bell
  3. White / The Earth Is Mostly Ocean
  4. A Window
  5. Hidden In Leaves
  6. (Red Flag)
  7. Iris
  8. Chrysanthemum Stone
  9. Always A Never Blue Sky
  10. Modern Lives
  11. Ellipse
  12. Unravel
  13. To Your Arms


All songs written by Sebastian Field, except for Unravel written by Bjork Guomundsdottir and Guy Sigsworth
Produced by Sam King and Sebastian Field
Recorded by Sam King
Design by Adam J Bragg



Facebook Twitter
For this post, the comments are closed.