Provenance Collective
Filed under Releases

PRO26: Scattered Order – Everything Happened In The Beginning

Scattered Order, one of Australia’s longest-lived and most consistently experimental bands, continue to confound with their take on post / industrial music, in an album brimming with ideas about how to shift sound forward.

Over the last four decades, Scattered Order have continually defied the expectations of their peers and fans, with an increasingly prolific and eclectic series of releases; reminding us that longevity and innovation can go hand-in-hand.

The band were a key force in the development of the post-punk and industrial scenes in Australia in the early 80s, from their own innovative take on the ground-breaking music being made in Europe and the U.S., to the formation of a like-minded community in their renowned M Squared record label (home to Systematics, The Makers Of The Dead Travel Fast, Ya Ya Choral and many more influential bands from the period).

Now in their 40th year, Scattered Order has mutated once again, continuing to confound with their take on post / industrial music. Recorded in their home studio over a weekend in June 2019, ‘Everything Happened In The Beginning’ combines the spontaneity of live performance and in-the-moment composition, with a new poise in production. The spoken and direct vocal style characteristic of some of their earliest material also makes a welcome reappearance.

Above all, this is an album brimming with ideas about how to shift sound forward, something that has been their urgent intention since day one.

  1. And then there is revision
  2. You want to pat them
  3. Dressed in the shadow of a hat
  4. Confirm humanity
  5. Chill Blaine Blues
  6. National Adjustment Scheme

Mitchell Jones – Guitars, Vocals, Programming
Michael Tee – Guitars, Bass guitar, Piano, Synthesisers
Shane Fahey – Synthesisers

Arranged and performed by Scattered Order (Jones, Tee, Fahey)
Recorded by Scattered Order at Tighes Hill Newcastle 29th and 30th June 2019
Mixed by Mitchell Jones at Mound of Sound Mount Victoria July and August 2019
Mastered by Sakis Anastopoulos at Digisound Mastering
Cover design by Cameron Baird
Live visuals by Colum at LIVING SCIENCE Dept.

Released 14 August 2020


Bandcamp Spotify Apple

Facebook Twitter
For this post, the comments are closed.